Statewide Eyesight Preschooler Screening

StEPS Logo Steps SS 12322939

What is StEPS?

The StEPS program is an initiative of NSW Health and offers all 4 years old children free vision screening. NSW Health advises all children to have their vision screened before they start school and strongly recommends that all 4-year old children participate in the vision screening program.

More information about the program can be found in this brochure and in the StEPS Policy Directive.

Why would my child need their vision screened?

  • Children rarely complain of eye problems or realise that they can’t see well. The only way to tell if a child has a vision problem is to have the child’s vision tested one eye at a time.

Did you know?

  • If a child has a ‘lazy eye’ it may lead to severe vision loss or blindness in that eye if not treated
  • If a child has a vision problem, the earlier the problem is detected and treated the better the vision outcome
  • If parents wear glasses or had vision problems as a child their children are more likely to have vision problems too
  • After a certain age, some childhood vision problems cannot be treated and the child will have poor vision for the rest of their life - glasses won’t help
  • Low birth weight babies and children with neurological problems are at a greater risk of developing eye problems

How can my child access the StEPS program?

Your Local Health District targets preschools and child care centres to offer all 4-year old children a free vision screening. To have your child's vision screened you will need to complete a consent form and return it to your child's preschool/childcare centre.

Contact details for your local StEPS Coordinator

For general enquiries, please contact the Office of Kids and Families on 9391 9483 or email steps@doh.health.nsw.gov.au. For booking enquiries, please contact your local StEPS coordinator. To find out which Local Health District you reside in, search for your closest town here

 

LHD

Name

Phone

Email

Central Coast

Marisa Lawler

02 4328 7900

Marie.Lawler@health.nsw.gov.au

Western NSW

Sandra Ford

02 6369 3300

Sandra.Ford@health.nsw.gov.au

Sue Ashton

02 6841 2253

Sue.Ashton@health.nsw.gov.au

Far West

Dianne Johnson

08 8080 1100 

Dianne.Johnson@health.nsw.gov.au

Southern NSW and Murrumbidgee

Allison Zucco

02 4475 7208

Allison.Zucco@gsahs.health.nsw.gov.au

Hunter New England

Alison Boehme

02 6538 5071

Alison.Boehme@hnehealth.nsw.gov.au

Northern Sydney

Therese Salole (Wednesday Thursday, alternate   Friday)

02 9462 9550

NSLHD-STEPS@health.nsw.gov.au

Jodi Simons (Monday, Tuesday, alternate Friday)

South Eastern Sydney and Illawarra Shoalhaven

Nadya Shulgin

02 8545 4662

SCHN-SCH-STEPS@health.nsw.gov.au

Western Sydney

Rowena Urweiss and Trish Woolley

02 8759 4150

Rowena.Urweiss@health.nsw.gov.au  

Nepean Blue Mountains

Kate Gillard 

02 4730 5100

kate.gillard@health.nsw.gov.au

South Western Sydney

Vicki Blight

1300 273 290

Victoria.blight@sswahs.nsw.gov.au  

Sydney LHD

Paola Gordon

02 9515 6346

paola.gordon@sswahs.nsw.gov.au

Northern NSW

Jennifer McKay

02 6620 2836

Jennifer.McKay@ncahs.health.nsw.gov.au

Mid North Coast

Wendy Mutton

02 6656 7061

Wendy.Mutton@ncahs.health.nsw.gov.au